Benefit’s newest mascara, ‘they’re Real’

And they’re spectacular!

Yes, this is what you and your lashes will be proclaiming once you get your mitts on Benefit’s newest ‘beyond mascara’ they’re Real.

It gives lashes both length and volume and with no evidence of smudging or clumping. Win!

The star of they’re Real, is most definitely the brush. With numerous tiny bristles, it’s bound to get every lash, and in a durable, almost ‘hard plastic’ like feel, it acts as a comb to nicely separate and define each lash. Double win!

The brush also has a nifty little feature; extra bristles at the top that spike out like, well the first and only thing that comes to mind is, like a mace.

Basically the premise here is that you use the wand as per usual, that is horizontally to achieve volume and length. Then you hold it vertically and use the top bristles to curl and separate.

I think it’s going to take me a bit of practice to get the hang of this, namely because while I really like the brush, I’m also petrified of it. The ‘hard plastic’ comb like feature, especially with the bristles on top scare the bejesus out of me and make me feel like I’m going to poke myself in the eye.

I’m sure I wont, and I’m sure you’re all pros at applying mascara but I can’t help but get a bit scared and make sure that I take my sweet time when applying.

Having said that, I’m always happy with the result, my lashes are all fluttery and sex bomb like (hence the cheeky innuendo present in the name) and there’s no smudging or flaking in sight.

In short, I think once you can perfect using the wand vertically and getting the most out of the extra bristles, you’ll really then be getting the most out of they’re Real and enjoying defined, voluminous lashes.

Benefit they’re Real is available now for $38 from all Benefit boutiques, Myer, David Jones and online at Adore Beauty.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Beauty

Subscribe to Ampersandmel

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Benefit’s newest mascara, ‘they’re Real’”

  1. Prapti
    October 17, 2011 at 09:05 #

    Hi! Nice blog. Please do check out my makeup blog http://praptig.wordpress.com/. Hope you like it!

  2. October 17, 2011 at 13:56 #

    I can’t wait to get my mitts on these. I’ve been pining for them since the first release!

  3. October 19, 2011 at 11:26 #

    If only I had $38 to spend on mascara….Lol

    • October 19, 2011 at 11:55 #

      Oh I know, but it’s one of the few that’s worth it. =)

Leave a Reply

